Got a cold?

Standard

Not surprising at all, I can tell that I have another cold brewing about in my system. So allow me to share a great recipe to help ward off colds. Darshana Thacker posted this recipe called Autumn Tea on her website www.vapikaspirit.com. As soon as I feel a little tickling in my nose or throat and congestion in my sinuses, I drink this. I would swear it’s like some kind of miracle tonic. The past several years I have gotten sick constantly, but this fall I’ve only had a couple of minor colds that did not last anywhere near as long as they used to, thanks to this tea!

Here’s the goods:

Autumn Tea

1 1/2 cup filtered water
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp ginger, fresh
1/4 tsp cinnamon powder or 1/2 inch stick
1/4 tsp black pepper corns, whole
6-8 cloves
1/4 tsp mineral salt
1/2 tsp lime juice

“In a pot, add all the ingredients except for the salt and lime juice. Bring this to a boil till the color of the tea changes from yellow to reddish orange, about 5-7 minutes. Strain into a cup and add salt and lime juice and sip while its hot, as hot as you can tolerate.”
Autumn Tea2

If you haven’t used turmeric before, it stains like a very bad word, so be careful! But don’t let that scare you away from it altogether. Turmeric is an anti-inflammatory, helps digestion, maintains the flora of the intestine, reduces gas, and helps to reduce stress and anxiety. Bring it on!

For straining, if you don’t a handy mini cup-sized strainer like this one, you can use a large tea filter bag.

Happy drinking!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

